Fast Report: Day 110

It’s been 89 days since my last fast report.  In case you’ve only recently joined this conversation I am currently on a clothing fast.  I hasten to say that this doesn’t mean that I’m joining a nudist colony.  Rather, it is to say that I am aiming to refrain from spending on clothing.

My initial aim is to do this for 6 months. However, if I make it to 6 months I may keep going for the full 12.  But let’s talk again after June 30th….

The fast has two primary objectives, the one material and the other spiritual.  The primary material benefit is that I’ll save some money this year.  After last year’s excess I need all the help I can get.  The primary spiritual benefit is a little more subtle.  My hope is that by fasting I’ll be reminded of what’s really important in life.

So how’s it going? Not brilliantly at the moment…..

On January 21st I reported that I wasn’t even tempted to break my fast. I’ve gotta say that this is no longer true. The 2016 Spring Summer Collections have arrived now and I have a number of gaps in my wardrobe that I would be keen to address.

I spent some time browsing Jermyn Street last week, perhaps an unwise move for a man on a fast.  More on this in a later blog. Whilst I didn’t buy anything, it certainly raised the temptation levels.

So have I kept to my fast?  Well yes and no.  On the no front, 10 days ago I bought some pairs of chinos from my favourite trouser outfitter, Charles Tyrwhitt. Whoops……

 So in what sense can it be a yes then?  Well prior to buying these chinos I returned a blazer which I bought late last year but had never worn.  I decided that I didn’t really need it.  Interestingly, the cost  of the returned blazer was greater than the cost of the chinos.

So I’ve been feeling a bit conflicted about this over the last 10 days.  On the one hand, contrary to my plans I have clearly spent on clothing.  On the other hand, I’ve also generated money by returning an item bought last year, greater than the amount spent.

Perhaps I’m kidding myself, but I’ve decided that this (just about) falls within the initial intention of the fast.  It clearly meets the material objectives. I think it also meets the spiritual objectives. There is something significant in the idea that in order to add to the wardrobe I first needed to give something up.

What do you think?

What do you think?

