50 Shades of Grey…?

So today I had a bit of a problem….. It’s nothing to be ashamed of, I’m sure.  Apparently most men have performance issues at some stage.  As long as it’s not a regular occurrence you chalk it up to experience and move on.

In my case, the performance failure was of the wardrobe variety.  I was putting together a relatively conservative combination that included multiple shades of grey: grey corduroy trousers, grey shirt, grey knitted waistcoat, and grey herringbone blazer.  Black shoes were my only concession to non-grey.50-Shades-of-Grey-Christian-Review-e1357768415940It’s a combination I’ve used before, so I was pretty confident it would work.  There was one change.  The grey cords are a relatively new addition, and have not been worn with this combination.  But changing one pair of grey trousers for another shouldn’t make that much of a difference to the overall outfit.

Turns out I was wrong.  The trousers are lovely items from Charles Tyrwhitt.  They fit well, are made from a beautiful fabric and are a lovely shade of grey.  Unfortunately they are a shade of grey that clashed with the grey of my blazer.

The previous occasion I had worn this combination the trousers had been a very dark, almost black, charcoal grey, which had complimented the lighter grey shirt and grey blazer extremely well.  On this occasion, the greys just didn’t work together.  At all.  Top half worked fine.  So did bottom half.  they just didn’t work together. Oh dear…

Image: blackpreps.com
Image: blackpreps.com

I figured out that there might be a problem just before I left home.  I tend to put on my blazer only when I am about to leave the house, and at that stage, I really wasn’t in a position to change trousers.  However, it was only when I got out of my car 30 minutes later, after the sun had fully risen, that I was able to see how much the 4 greys clashed.

Not for the first time I recognised the Importance of Natural Light (especially when experimenting with colours). But it was too late to do anything about it.  So off to work I trotted, wishing I’d been a bit more careful.

Gary Cooper
Gary Cooper demonstrates grey on grey.

There are multiple shades of grey; far more than 50.  This means that getting different types of grey to align can be difficult. And as I discovered, a different shade of grey can mean that what should be a straightforward combination somehow fails to work.

Like I said, all men face performance issues occasionally.  Today was mine.  We chalk it up to experience and move on….

One thought on “50 Shades of Grey…?

What do you think?

