Sometimes It’s the Simple Things….

I was wearing a suit today.  Nothing unusual there. My kids and I were watching Skyfall on the weekend so I was inspired to channel my inner Daniel Craig. 

So I chose a very simple combination based on Bond’s pre ‘death’ ensemble: plain light grey suit, plain white shirt, and lighter grey tie. It was accessorised with chrome cufflinks, stainless steel watch and dark grey whole cuts.

Ryan Gosling

It looked good I thought.  Very simple. Very smart.

Interestingly, lots of people appeared to think so also.  Lots of comments, in fact, beginning with my wife, who does not often make comments on my clothing these days.  She’s seen it all by now.

jamie-foxx-_gallery-image_29188

What is difficult to articulate is what exactly makes it look so great.  It’s a look than virtually every man can pull off.  Most of us have a grey suit.  If you don’t you should. Every Man should own a grey suit.  And even more of us have a smart white shirt. If you don’t, refer to my previous comment.

I don’t know why it works, simply that it does.  Sometimes the simple things are the best.

skyfall-2012

What do you think?

