5YP HAS ARRIVED!

 The phone rang.  The voice at the other end of the phone was familiar but not immediately recognisable. He clearly knew who I was but I was busy trying to work out who he was. And then the penny dropped.

SUITS-THIS1

It  was a one of my oldest friends. But we very rarely talk on the phone and we live thousands of miles apart. We spent a few minutes catching up but then he got to the point of the call: He remembered that I had been writing a blog on man style. Was it still going?

The reason for the question?  He found himself in the unusual position of being required to offer some words on deportment to a group of young men and wanted to use the5YP blog as a starting point. I was flabbergasted.

What’s the big deal you ask? Some context might be helpful here. I’ve alluded to this friend in an earlier blog. He is one of the most stylish men I know. In the three decades that I have known him, dating back to when I was a pre teen, he has been effortlessly stylish. And he still is.

idris-elba1

I’ve listed him him among my style influences and one of the reasons that I am persuaded that Building a Gentleman’s wardrobe is a project to which it is well worth giving 5 years of your life.

For him to use my blog as a starting point for his talk is a bit like being asked by Tiger Woods for an opinion on which club he should use for his next shot.

My blog has had a number of special moments over the last 12 months.  But this is my highlight.  It feels like 5YP has finally arrived.

What do you think?

