Would YOU Wear Pink Chinos?

I’ve been contemplating for some months now the idea of pink chinos.  I remember the moment I started down this train of thought. 

I spotted an older gentleman in an airport departure lounge. Navy blazer. White shirt. Pink chinos. Effortless cool. Ever since then I’ve been thinking it over and wondering whether I could take the plunge.

Pink Chinos

I am no stranger to colour. Moreover, just at the moment coloured chinos are very much on trend.  In my ‘In Between’ Trouser collection I have trousers in burgundy, plum, white and green, along with the more common khaki, navy and grey.  However, pink is beyond my experience.

Pink is a complex colour in a masculine colour palette. First, it is viewed by many as a girlie colour.  Second, perhaps because of that perception there are certain types of garments that are OK in pink but definitely not others. So a pink shirt may be OK but a pink suit is not.  You might be prepared to wear a pink tie, perhaps, but are you open to pink pants?

Pink Suit. Not. OK.
Pink Suit. Not. OK.

Which brings us to pink chinos. They have a certain je ne sais quoi about them and require a certain self–confidence in the man wearing them.  But I think they are properly cool.

Combined with a grey, taupe or navy blazer I reckon they are very much the domain of the discerning gentleman. Especially during spring summer when the days are lighter they are worth a punt.

290512-mark-wright-4-de

There are at least three basic shades of pink chinos.  The most common is a classic deep salmon pink.  Less common is a dark pink. It’s advantage is that it is pretty conservative.  It’s more of a pale burgundy than pink.  Perhaps least common is a pastel pink.  Think Barbie and you won’t be too far off.  However, this I think is possibly the most striking.

I’ve been evaluating a fab looking pair in pastel pink from Debenhams.  (They look better in the fabric than they do in the Debenham’s pics). They have a great fit and come with a flexi-waist. Essentially there is some concealed elastic in the waist which means they are comfortable. I’ll let you know how I get on.

Per-rosa-byxor-681x1024

So what do you think?  Would you wear pink chinos?

Try Debenhams, M&S, or Matalan for pink chinos

6 thoughts on “Would YOU Wear Pink Chinos?

  1. Pink chinos are my go to trousers for summer. I also have pink linen trousers which are more dressy. I’ve been looking for a nice pair of pink corduroys but so far have not succeeded in finding the right ones.

    According to an article in the trade publication Earnshaw’s Infants’ Department in June 1918 quoted in Wikipedia:

    “The generally accepted rule is pink for the boys, and blue for the girls. The reason is that pink, being a more decided and stronger color, is more suitable for the boy, while blue, which is more delicate and dainty, is prettier for the girl.”

  2. i think pink and blue is a fabulous combination!

    I dont let go of stereotypes, pink is a valid color even I think it shows security in yourself because a color does not determine your masculinity.

  3. In New England, it’s normal… I grew up seeing lots of men (preppy-types) wear pastel pink chinos, shirts, ties.
    Here in the UK it’s looks like one is trying too hard to be au courant. Inevitably appearing like a fashion victim, homosexual or both…

    Of the 4 photos in this article, only the last man looks like he’s got it right…

    1. Thanks for this. Fantastic film! Equally fantastic chinos.

      Must be have been good to be JFK. Everything seemed to look good on him….

What do you think?

