Grey Scale Suits

Regular readers of this blog will know that I am a fan of the grey suit, particularly charcoal grey. In fact, one of my earliest posts was Why Every Man Needs a Charcoal Suit.

One of the great things about a grey suit is its versatility. It can be combined with a huge range of colours and worn in wide range of contexts.

In addition, grey exists on a very wide colour scale. At one end of the spectrum is charcoal grey; at the other end is pale grey. And that is before you consider greys with hints of other colours, for example, blue, grey, brown or taupe.

grey-suit-james-bond

For these reasons I have a number of grey suits and blazers in my collection. So I have suits in light grey plain sharkskin, dark charcoal and mid grey pinstripe. In addition, I have a light grey/taupe pinstripe linen blazer that I am growing to love more and more for it combination of versatility and comfort.

Last week I found myself in the unusual situation of wearing grey suits/blazers all week.  This was not intentional.

grey-pinstripe-suit-meastro-back-italian-italy-style-men

Having selected and ironed my shirts as I was Planning My Weekly Wardrobe I hadn’t given a great deal of thought to what I would wear with these shirts.  As it happens I ended up choosing a grey suit or blazer to go with each.  It was only as the week was ending that I realised that I had chosen to wear varying shades of grey suits/blazers all week.

I’m not sure what this says about me. However, I am clear what it says about grey scale suits. Broadly speaking, the shirts you wish to wear will work well with a suit located somewhere along the grey scale.

HUGO-Aikonen-Grey-Stretch-Wool-Suit-1

Try it and see for yourself.

What do you think?

