(Cool) Cat in a Hat

Have you seen the film Adjustment Bureau? If so you may remember that the shadowy agents of the bureau all wear hats (and suits). Their hats allow them to access portals which enable them to cross great distances simply by going through a door.

Fans of Mad Men, set in the 1960s, will also be used to the sight of well-dressed men topping off their ensemble with a hat.

And then there is the excellent Boardwalk Empire, the prohibition era HBO series, which also features some cracking suits and, you guessed it, men in hats.

Hats of course used to be a standard part of a gentleman’s attire.  No well–dressed man would be without one (or indeed a few). Towards the end of the ’60s hats began to become less de rigueur.

However, I certainly remember hats being quite common among older men in the ’70s; a fact that no doubt hastened their almost total demise by the ’80s.  By then, the only hat we men would wear was the ubiquitous baseball cap, almost certainly branded with some corporate identity

Having seen smart men in proper hats positively portrayed in film perhaps I have been softened up to the idea of men’s hats making a comeback. However, I was not prepared for my 12–year old son to declare that he wanted a hat. Didn’t see that coming.

So is the hat making a comeback?  I think it might be.  Personally I think I am in favour of it. It is certainly a useful piece of kit. For those of us who are ‘follically challenged’ a hat can cover our receding hairlines, keep the sun out of out of our eyes, keep the head warm in winter, and keep us cool in summer.

And speaking of cool, worn well, a hat can make you look like one cool cat.  Here are some of my favourites.

I know what you’re thinking.  ‘Where would I go to get a hat?’  You probably want to start a cheaply so that you gain some idea of what you like, and what shapes work with your face before splashing out lots of cash.

Try Matalan for hats under £5.  M&S also have a limited range, but few like the ones you see pictured here.

When you are ready for a serious hat you’ll want a serious milliner (not all hatters are mad…) such as Lock & Co Hatters in London.  Also try Bates in Jermyn Street, now part of Hilditch & Key

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “(Cool) Cat in a Hat

  1. I find hats very practical to add that “je-ne-sais-quoi” to your style – for money saving and still a good style, head to the markets like the Brick Lane market for cheap yet fashionable hats from £5 – you can buy more to suit all your outfits!

  2. I took the plunge and got myself a trilby a few weeks back after eyeing them up for months on end. So far I’m loving it, I’m definitely converted. I’d always liked the idea f a hat, but never liked the rounders caps everyone seems to wear…. I got mine for £15 at http://www.hatsandcaps.co.uk really good service.

    Great website, really enjoying your writing, I can see my own project developing, after years of dressing like a scruffy teenager, its definitely time for a change.

What do you think?

