Bow Ties: What Do YOU Think?

If you’ve been paying any attention to menswear trends you can hardly have failed to notice the resurgence of the bow tie in recent years.

For some it is just that, a trend, which will pass as quickly as it arose and need not detain those seriously interested in style.

For others it is a cause for celebration. That a tie, any tie, is seen as trendy can only be a good thing is the cause of men’s style.

Clearly, there is no obviously right or wrong view on this one.  For what it’s worth whilst I have admired the bow tie look on others it’s not one that I have attempted myself.  Apart from when I am wearing a tux, obviously.

I’m not sure I could pull off a bow tie look and take myself seriously.  It feels to me to be the look of someone trying a little too hard perhaps; a bit like wearing geeky glasses when you have 20:20 vision.

I remember that look being fashionable in the 80s and I actually had a pair of horn rimmed ‘fashion specs’ back then. I wouldn’t be daft enough to try it now.

Besides I am just pleased that so far I have not yet been prescribed glasses.  A man of my age and profession knows that glasses are probably not too far away in the future so definitely wouldn’t want to tempt fate by wearing them as a fashion accessory.

But back to the bow tie…

Indiana Jones wore one.  Churchill wore one too.
James Bond wears one. And so does Dr Who. 
These days every Tom, Dick, and Harry seems to have one;
The question is, should you? 

(Did you see what I did there…?)

The bow tie: what do you think?

What do you think?

